• 1992 Ph. D : Iowa State University, Department of Materials Science and Engineering

  • 1984 M.S : Seoul National University, Department of Inorganic Materials Engineering

  • 1982 B.S : Seoul National University, Department of Inorganic Materials Engineering


  • 2011-Present Electronic Materials Letter, Editorial board

  • 2000-Present Korea Ceramics society, Academic Director of Operations, Business Director, Vice-President, President

  • 2006-2008 Korea Sanhak Foundation, Seoul National University, Vice-Chairman, Chairman

  • 2005 Stanford University, U.S.A., Visiting Scholar

  • 2003-2008 Superconductor Science and Technology, Editorial board

  • 2001-Present The Korean institute of Applied Superconductivity and Cryogenics, Academic Director, Editorial Director, Vice-President, President

  • 1998-Present Seoul National University, Assistant Professor, Associate Professor, Professor

  • 1995-1998 Railway Technical Research Institute, Japan, Senior Researcher

  • 1993-1995 Superconductivity Research Laboratory, Visiting Researcher

  • 1992-1993 Ames Laboratory, U.S.A., Post Doctorate

Honor & Award

  • NAEK Academician, The National Academy of Engineering of Korea (January 1, 2020)

  • Seah Academic Award, the Korean Institute of Metals and Materials (October 27, 2016)

  • Best poster award, MRS2012 Spring Meeting in San Francisco, USA (April 2012)

  • Distinguished Paper Awards, Korea Federation of Science and Technology Societies (2008, 2010)

  • Distinguished Academic Award, the Korea Institute of Applied Superconductivity and Cryogenics (2009)

  • Fellow, the Institute of Physics (August 2004)

  • Award of Merit 2000 (for outstanding contribution to the R&D of High-Tc Superconductors)

  • bestowed from The Society of Nontraditional Technology of Japan, NEDO, Japan (May 12, 2000)

  • PASREG Award of Excellence, PASREG Committee (1999)

  • Director’s Award, Superconductor Research Laboratory-ISTEC, Japan (1994)